

DECISIONS

BM.17/DEC.01: Mr Irfan Saeed of the United States of America, the Netherlands, Norway and Germany constituency appointed as the Rapporteur of the 17th Board meeting.

BM.17/DEC.02: The agenda for the 17th Board meeting (BM.17/DOC.01) is approved.

BM.17/DEC.03: BM.17/DEC.03: The Board notes the following change in its membership (each without signatory authority) since the 16th Board meeting:

- **Australia, Japan and New Zealand**: Mr Tetsuya Yamada replaces Ambassador Jeffrey Roach as the Board member;
- Australia, Japan and New Zealand: Ambassador Jeffrey Roach replaces Mr Tetsuya Yamada as the Alternate Board member;
- **Bangladesh**: Ambassador Mohammad Sufiur Rahman replaces Ambassador Mustafizur Rahman as the Alternate Board member;
- **European Union, France, Denmark and Italy**: Ms Amélie Delaroche replaces Ms Jeanne Laterrade as the Alternate Board member;
- **Switzerland**: Ambassador Christian Frutiger replaces Ambassador Thomas Gass as the Board member:
- **Tunisia and the Philippines**: Ms Margarita Gutierrez replaces Mr Alexander Macario as the Alternate Board member.

BM.17/DEC.04: The Board:

- a. notes the resignation of Mr Derek Müller, Switzerland constituency, as member of the Finance and Audit Committee, and thanks him for his service; and
- b. requests the Chair to consult with Board members interested in joining the Finance and Audit Committee and present a recommendation on the committee's membership for Board approval, using the no objection procedure set out in Article 2.9 of the Bylaws.

BM.17/DEC.05: The Board:

- a. appreciates the work of the Finance & Audit Committee (FAC) for its thorough review of the proposed budget and notes its endorsement;
- b. approves the 2023 budget as follows:

Revenue: USD 31.7m

• Expenses: USD 31.3m; and

c. notes that 93% of the proposed 2023 budget is funded at this time. Confirmation of announced contributions, as well as new funding is needed.

BM.17/DEC.06: The Board:

- a. notes that the second and final term of Sir Malcolm Evans, Mr Keneshbek Sainazarov, and Dr Lisa Schirch as members of the Independent Review Panel (IRP) will end by 31 December 2022 and thanks them for their service;
- b. approves the appointment of the following experts to the IRP also until 31. 12.2026:
 - BELAALA, Dr Salma;
 - DANZIGER, Mr Richard; and
 - SANS, Ms Gazbiah
- c. confirms that the following members are serving on the IRP panel:

Second and final term:

KHAN, Ms Humera, until 31.12.2023;

First term:

- CHRISTIAN LEKE, Mr Achaleke until 31. 12. 2023
- GLAZZARD, Dr Andrew, until 31. 12. 2024
- MALEFAKIS, Dr Medinat until 31. 12. 2024
- MALET, Dr David until 31. 12. 2024;
- JRAD, Ms Eya until 31. 12. 2025
- LAMALAN, Ms Fatima Star Usman until 31. 12. 2025
- RAVNKILDE, Mr Adam until 31. 12. 2025
- ROURE, Ms Maud until 31. 12. 2023 and
- SAMPSON, Mr John until 31. 12. 2025

BM.17/DEC.07: The Board:

- a. notes the resignation of Mr Geir Michalsen, United States of America, the Netherlands, Norway, and Germany constituency, Ambassador Miriam Shearman, Canada and United Kingdom constituency, and Ms Selena Victor, Civil Society constituency, as members of the Governance and Ethics Committee, and thanks them for their service; and
- b. approves the appointment of Ambassador Abiodun Richards Adejola, Burkina Faso, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Nigeria constituency, Mr Fulco Van Deventer, Civil Society constituency, and Ms Dominique Kok, United States of America, the Netherlands, Norway, and Germany constituency, as members of the Governance and Ethics Committee.

BM.17/DEC.08: The Board:

a. approves the proposed changes in BM.17/DOC.09, namely:

To re-organise the 15 constituencies to six donor constituencies, six partner country constituencies, and two constituencies for non-governmental organisations, one each for the private sector and foundations, and civil society and policy think-and-do tanks. The Swiss Government retains its host state constituency; and

b. requests the Secretariat to proceed with the following changes to the Bylaws, including obtaining the required approval of the Swiss Supervisory Authority:

Article 2.2 Composition

The Board shall be comprised of:

a. Voting Members

Not more than fifteen (15) members with the right to vote, consisting of the following stakeholders and partners contributing to the work of GCERF:

- i. six (6) representing a country or countries eligible to receive funding (as determined by the Board) for activities funded by GCERF ("Partner Countries")¹;
- ii. six (6) representing a country or countries and/or international organizations providing financial and other contributions to GCERF;
- iii. one (1) representing civil society and policy, think, and do tanks;
- iv. one (1) representing the private sector and foundations; and
- v. one (1) who is a Swiss national and represents the host state of GCERF.

(signed)	(signed)
Irfan Saeed	Stefano Manservisi
Rapporteur	Chair

Page 3 Final Decisions

¹ These countries are referred to as "recipient countries" in the Statutes.