Governance Structure

Governing Board

GCERF is a Swiss foundation with a Secretariat located in Geneva, Switzerland. Under its Statutes and Bylaws, its supreme governing body is a multi-stakeholder Board with representatives of the constituencies set out in the diagram below:


*and international organizations

Board Members

The current voting Board Members and Alternate Board Members of the Governing Board are set out below:
Australia, Japan, and New Zealand
Board Member: Mr Daisuke Namioka, Director, International Safety and Security Cooperation Division, Foreign Policy Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan

Alternate Board Member: H.E. Mr Paul Foley, Ambassador for Counter-Terrorism, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Australia 

Board Member: H.E. Mr Md. Shahidul Haque, Senior Foreign Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh

Canada and United Kingdom
Board Member: H.E. Ms Miriam Shearman, Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva

Alternate Board Member: Ms Michelle Cameron, Director, Counter-Terrorism and Anti-Crime Capacity Building Programs, Global Affairs Canada

Civil Society
Board Member: Mr Fulco Van Deventer, Vice-Director, Human Security Collective

Alternate Board Member: Ms Selena Victor, Director of Policy & Advocacy, Mercy Corps Europe

European Union and France
Board Member: Mr Olivier Luyckx, Head of Unit, Stability, Security, Development and Nuclear Safety, Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO), European Commission

Alternate Board Member: France

Board Member: Mr Matthew Lawrence, Managing Director, Co-existence, Tony Blair Institute for Global Change

Kenya (Horn of Africa, East and Southern Africa)
 Board Member: H.E. Dr Cleopa Kilonzo Mailu, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kenya to the United Nations and other International Organizations in Geneva

Board Member: Mr Fatos Makolli, National CVE Coordinator of the Republic of Kosovo

Mali and Nigeria (West and Central Africa) 
Board Member: H.E. Mr Audu Ayinla Kadiri, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to the United Nations Office in Geneva

Alternate Board Member: H.E. Mr Mamadou Henri Konate, Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of the Republic of Mali to the United Nations Office in Geneva

Policy, Think and Do Tanks
Board Member: Mr Maqsoud Kruse, Executive Director, Hedayah

Alternate Board Member: Mr Eelco Kessels, Executive Director, Global Center on Cooperative Security

Private Sector
Board Member: Ms Jessica Long, Managing Director, Strategy and Sustainability, North America Lead, Accenture

Alternate Board Member: Mr Tam Robert Nguyen, Global Head of Sustainability, Bechtel Corporation

Board Member: H.E. Dr Mutlaq Majed Al-Qahtani, Ambassador and Special Envoy of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the State of Qatar for Counterterrorism and Mediation

Board Member: H.E. Mr Thomas Gass, Ambassador, Vice-Director and Head of the South Cooperation Department of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC)

Alternate Board Member: Dr Daniel Frank, Deputy Coordinator for International Counter-Terrorism, Federal Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland

Tunisia (North Africa and Middle East) 
Board Member: Mr Mokhtar Ben Nasr , President of the National Counter Terrorism Commission of Tunisia

United States of America, the Netherlands and Norway
Board Member: H.E. Mr Nathan Sales, Ambassador and Coordinator for Counterterrorism, U.S. Department of State

Alternate Board Member: Mr Huib Mijnarends, Head Counterterrorism & National Security Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

Non-Voting Members
Chair: Ms Carol Bellamy

Executive Director: Dr Khalid Koser


Global Community Engagement and Resilience Fund (GCERF)